Executive Board

Tory Hill

Dr. Tory C. Hill 

Dr. Tory Hill is the Sweeny ISD Superintendent of Schools. He is an educational leader who is passionate about creating personalized learning experiences that empower students to create their future.

Prior to Sweeny, Dr. Hill served as an Assistant Superintendent for Instructional and Administrative Support for Katy ISD. In this role, he supported campuses in providing unparalleled learning experiences for each student through the use of engaging strategies and technology integration. Dr. Hill returned to Katy ISD from Clear Creek ISD where he served as the Executive Director for Professional Learning. While in Katy, Dr. Hill served as the principal of Mayde Creek Junior High, assistant principal and instructional principal at Cinco Ranch High School, and teacher at Mayde Creek Junior High. He also taught high school social studies in both Georgia and Florida.

Dr. Hill holds a Doctoral Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Texas A&M University. He also received a Master's Degree in Educational Leadership from Florida A&M University and a Bachelor's Degree in Education from Southern University.

Dr. Elaine Bailey 
Immediate-Past President

Dr. Elaine Bailey, CEO of AJNJ Educational Enterprises, retired after completing 34 years in the field of education. As a graduate of Texas Southern University, she began her teaching career in the Houston Independent School District, where she remained for thirteen years.

The remainder of her career in education was spent in the North Forest Independent School District, where she held a multitude of administrative positions. Dr. Bailey is a charter member of both the Houston Area Alliance of Black School Educators and the Texas Alliance of Black School Educators and she has been a “Life” member of the National Alliance of Black School Educators for more than twenty years. She is currently the Immediate Past President of her local affiliate and President-elect of the state affiliate, as well as the Southwest Affiliate Representative for national.

Dr. Bailey is deeply committed to the ideals of HAABSE, TABSE, and NABSE and she believes that each of us should make ourselves a committee of one for the purpose of ensuring a quality education for every child in this nation.


Dr. Kwabena Mensah 

Dr. Kwabena Mensah is currently serving as an Assistant Superintendent in Fort Bend ISD where he supervises 16 elementary schools. Dr. Mensah received his M.Ed in Educational Leadership from the University of Texas at Austin in 2006. In 2013, he completed his Ed.D in Educational Leadership from the University of Houston.

Dr. Mensah has been recognized as a leading transformational educator in Texas. Mensah has received multiple awards for his work transforming schools, increasing student achievement, and building robust school cultures. Recently, he was honored as Katy ISD Principal of the Year, Texas Alliance of Black School Educators (TABSE) Principal of the Year, and Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA) National Distinguished Principal Finalist. Additionally, his campus was named a TABSE Demonstration School and honored by Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner.

Ms. Corina Bullock
Recording Secretary

​Mrs. Bullock is a graduate of Prairie View A & M University where she majored in Engineering.   She has been educator for over 30 years.    Mrs. Bullock has served as classroom teaceher and has an extensive background as a Professional Development Trainer.   Currently,  Mrs. Bullock is the Special Education Chairperson at S.C. Red Elementary STEM Magnet in Houston ISD and she is in the process of completing her doctorate at Sam Houston State University.   Mrs. Bullock is the the Co-Chair for the Professional Development Committee for HAABSE.

Ms. Vanessa Squirrell
Corresponding Secretary

​Ms. Squirrell is a graduate of Prairie View A & M University.    She currently works in Alief ISD as Prevention and Safe Schools Specialist.   Vanessa is the Newsletter Chairperson for HAABSE.

Ms. Vanita Reed
Financial Secretary

Vanita Reed is a retired Houston Independent School District teacher and administrator. Following her retirement with HISD, she became principal of St. James School where she remained for three years. She has been an active member of HAABSE, TABSE, and NABSE for nearly 20 years. She is a past HAABSE president and is currently the Recording Secretary of TABSE.

Mrs. Eliza York

Eliza York has a B.S. Degree in Mathematics, a Master’s Degree in Counseling, as well as Administration and Superintendent Certification—all from Texas Southern University. She has been involved with the educational organizations on all levels. Eliza served as president of the Houston Counseling Association and was its membership chair. Mrs. York has served HAABSE as a volunteer, and now serves in the position of Treasurer. Eliza York has also served her church as secretary and treasurer for twenty five years, and is an active member of Hillwood Civic Club.

Not pictured

Mr. Jerrell Purvis, Jr. 

Jerrell Purvis, Jr is a native of Houston, Texas. He received Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from Texas Southern University and a Master’s degree from Prairie View A&M University. As an employee of North Forest ISD for over thirty years he has been a teacher, counselor, assistant principal and principal. He retired from NFISD and is currently an advisor at Houston Can Academy Hobby.

Dr. Roslyn Vaughn

Dr. Vaughn is the long-time principal of Anderson Elementary School in Houston ISD.   She has worked as a teacher, assistant principal, principal and adjunct professor at two of the local universities. Dr. Vaughn has also served in numerous leadership roles in HAABSE for about 20 years. She is also member of the Houston Association of School Administrators (HASA), Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., and member of the Fountain of Praise.

Ms. Rhonda Mason 

Mrs. Mason is a graduate of Sam Houston State University. She is currently an Assistant Principal at Sherman Elementary in Houston ISD. Rhonda is a sought-after professional development trainer/consultant, Co-Chair for the Professional Development Committee for HAABSE, a member of the TABSE Demonstration Team, and member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

Not pictured

Cameron C. Wells, Jr.
Historian Emeritus

Mr. Wells is an original HAABSE member and TABSE Founder.   He is a retired Houston ISD ROTC instructor and administrator.   Mr. Wells and his wife, Ernestine, a retired Houston ISD Counselor have provided tremendous service to HAABSE, TABSE, and NABSE for over three decades.